United Opposition Wins in Kairana, BJP Wins Palghar BJP and its ally have managed to win in two of the four Lok Sabha seats


THE Bharatiya Janata Party won the Palghar Lok Sabha seat in Maharashtra but lost the Kairana Lok Sabha seat in Uttar Pradesh to a united opposition, setting the tone for the 2019 general elections due in 11 months.

Elections were held for the Kairana Lok Sabha seat in Uttar Pradesh after the death of BJP’s lawmaker Hukum Singh. His daughter Mriganka Singh was the party candidate against the Rashtriya Lok Dal’s Tabassum Hasan.

This victory by the united opposition is being seen as a test case for a larger opposition alliance leading up to 2019. Hasan is a Samajwadi Party leader who contested on an RLD ticket supported by the Congress and the Bahujan Samaj Party.

Bypolls were held for four Lok Sabha seats and 10 assembly constituencies across 10 states.

BJP has managed to win only one Lok Sabha Seat. NDPP-BJP alliance has won the only Lok Sabha seat in Nagaland, and Nationalist Congress Party’s candidate has won in Maharashtra’s Bhandara-Gondiya.

In the assembly seats, Trinamool Congress has won in Maheshtala, Congress in Punjab’s Shahkot, Ampati in Meghalaya and RR Nagar in Karnataka, Rashtriya Janata Dal in Bihar’s Jokihat, SP in Noorpur, BJP in Uttarakhand’s Tharali and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha in Jharkhand’s Gomia and Silli.

Follow Live Updates:


Zee News English




Original features, micro docus and explainers


Get stories that count, stories that matter everyday in your mailbox