No-confidence Motion: Shiv Sena to Vote Against, AAP in Favour Most parties have issued whips to their lawmakers and a vote against the party line will mean losing their seat


POLITICS and politicking are picking up speed a day ahead of the vote on the no-confidence motion in Lok Sabha with math colliding with realpolitik for the floor managers of the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party-led alliance and a somewhat united opposition.

The notice for the no-confidence motion against the National Democratic Alliance government was jointly moved by the Congress, Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) on Wednesday with over fifty lawmakers supporting it.

A no-confidence motion needs the backing of at least fifty lawmakers.

Speaker Sumitra Mahajan had accepted the no-confidence motion, a first in 15 years, and set Friday as the day for the motion to be taken up.

The BJP has 273 members and the NDA coalition’s strength at 314 in the 545-member lower house so in theory the party is set to sail through if at all the motion is put to vote.

And with the speaker accepting the resignations of Biju Janata Dal lawmaker Baijayant Jay Panda and Kerala Congress (M) lawmaker Jose K Mani post his nomination to Rajya Sabha, the effective strength of the house is now at 533. This moves the majority mark in the Lok Sabha to 266.

A debate ahead of the vote on the no-confidence motion is likely to see some fiery speeches with reports saying Congress President Rahul Gandhi will lead the party’s charge. Prime Minister Narendra Modi will lead the government’s reply to the debate.

But a few dissenting lawmakers have the party bosses and floor managers a bit worried. Parties have issued whips to their lawmakers to be present in the house and vote with the party line.

A vote against the party whip will mean losing their membership just months ahead of the polls in 2019 so lawmakers will have to think well before they do.

The opposition is hoping that there will some cross voters from the ruling alliance and that their constituents will vote together to support the motion. But often in the past, parties have abstained to remain neutral and in a way helping the ruling alliance.

#NoConfidenceMotion: AS IT HAPPENS

Time Allotted to Parties for Debate

Shiv Sena on the Motion

AAP Issues Whip

Rebel TDP Lawmaker Agrees

BJP Lawmaker Shatrughan Sinha

AIADMK’s EK Palaniswami

Biju Janata Dal Issues Whip

TDP President N Chandrababu Naidu

BJP Lawmaker and Union Minister Ananth Kumar

Samajwadi Party’s Ram Gopal Yadav

DMK Working President MK Stalin

TDP Lawmaker JC Diwakar Reddy




Original features, micro docus and explainers


Get stories that count, stories that matter everyday in your mailbox