Karnataka Bypolls: Congress-JD(S) Alliance Trumps BJP 4-1 Congress party candidate VS Ugrappa won the Bellary Lok Sabha seat by a huge margin of over 2 lakh votes


THE RULING Congress Party and Janata Dal (Secular) alliance in Karnataka has won 4 of the 5 seats for which bypolls were held, including the Bellary Lok Sabha seat which has been a stronghold of the Bharatiya Janata Party in the state.

The states of south India are celebrating Diwali today and the overwhelming result in favour of the ruling alliance, including the large margins of victory, has left the BJP worried and the Congress-JD(S) combine celebrating with much fanfare.

Congress party candidate VS Ugrappa won the Bellary Lok Sabha seat by a huge margin of over 2 lakh votes, defeating BJP’s V Shantha, the sister of BJP leader B Sriramulu who had vacated the seat to contest the state assembly elections earlier this year.

In the Mandya Lok Sabha constituency, JD(S) candidate LR Shivarame Gowda won by a margin of over 3 lakh votes.

In the assembly seats, BJP’s consolation win came from Shimoga which was won by BY Raghavendra, the son of former Chief Minister and party leader BS Yeddyurappa. He defeated JD(S)’s Madhu Bangarappa with a margin of just over 50,000 votes.

The Bellary seat saw much heat before the polls with party stalwarts of the Congress-JD(S) alliance led by DK Shivakumar, former Chief Minister Siddaramaiah and Dinesh Gundu Rao campaigning extensively and even accepting a challenge from the Reddy brothers, the mining barons who consider Bellary as their stronghold.

A comprehensive win in favour of the alliance is also being looked upon as a sign months ahead of the general elections due in 2019, with some experts saying that this win could now make a larger coalition possible to challenge the BJP.

BJP has downplayed its performance in Karnataka, saying that the results of the bypolls will have no bearing on the 2019 Lok Sabha polls.

#KarnatakaBypolls: WHAT THEY SAID

Karnataka CM Kumaraswamy

Congress leader Dinesh Gundu Rao

Congress Leader DK Shivakumar

The Mood




Original features, micro docus and explainers


Get stories that count, stories that matter everyday in your mailbox