HD Kumaraswamy Sworn-in as Karnataka Chief Minister The ceremony was attended by several regional party leaders as well as state chief ministers


HD KUMARASWAMY, the leader of Janata Dal (Secular)-Congress alliance, was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Karnataka four days after BS Yeddyurappa resigned before taking the floor test.

The ceremony took place at the Vidhan Soudha in the presence of United Progressive Alliance chairperson Sonia Gandhi and Congress president Rahul Gandhi.

Putting up a strong and united front against the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), regional party leaders such as Mayawati, Akhilesh Yadav, Sharad Yadav and Chief Ministers Mamata Banerjee, Arvind Kejriwal and Chandrababu Naidu were also present at the ceremony.

Kumaraswamy was administered the oath by Governor Vajubhai Vala who had earlier invited BJP’s BS Yeddyurappa to form the government.

Karnataka Congress president G Parameshwara was sworn-in as the Deputy Chief Minister while KR Ramesh took the oath for Speaker of the Karnataka Assembly. The 32-member Karnataka cabinet will have 22 ministers from Congress and 12 from JD(S).

Members of the BJP were conspicuous by their absence at the event as they were observing today as “anti-people’s mandate day”.

However, Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Home Minister Rajnath Singh congratulated Kumaraswamy and Parameshwara on taking oath as the chief minister and deputy chief minister respectively.




Original features, micro docus and explainers


Get stories that count, stories that matter everyday in your mailbox